For immediate release - March 7, 2024

Angela Crawford, Vice President of Marketing
[email protected]

Angie McElhaney installed as 2024 Builders board of directors chair

A ceremonial passing of the gavel during The Builders 137th Anniversary Event marked the start of McElhaney’s board chair tenure for one of the largest commercial construction associations in the country

Angie McElhaney, CFO, Mark One Electric

KANSAS CITY, Mo., March 7, 2024 – The Builders, a chapter of the AGC, is pleased to announce the appointment of its 2024 Board of Directors. Angie McElhaney, chief financial officer at Mark One Electric Company, Inc., was seated as chair of the Board of Directors in a meeting Jan. 11, and a public “passing of the gavel” took place Feb. 15 during the association’s anniversary event.

McElhaney is the second woman to hold the chair position for the association, following past chair Brandy McCombs, principal at IBC, who was the first woman to hold the position during her tenure in 2023.

“My word for 2024 is ‘reconciliation’ — something accountants do frequently,” McElhaney said. “For The Builders, that will mean reconciling the old with the new. We have new, energetic talent in Lance as the staff executive, and I want to ensure we harness what he brings to the team to blend it with the traditions and success that have put us in such a strong position as an association.”

McElhaney will serve as chair alongside Vice Chair Andy Heitmann, Turner Construction Company; Assistant Chair Steve Levy, McCownGordon Construction; and Immediate Past Chair McCombs.

Newly elected to the board are Brian Dietz, JE Dunn Construction Company; Susan Hart, Reinhardt Construction; Steve Kellerman, Burns & McDonnell Engineering Company, Inc.; and Juan Luengo, Engage Insurance Group, Inc.

“Angie has been a key part of my transition into this leadership role, and I’m excited to work with her this year in forming the association’s next strategic plan,” said Builders President Lance Claiborne. ”She is the right person to help put us on the best path forward for the association and our members.”

The ceremonial passing of the gavel to McElhaney took place during the program portion of The Builders Anniversary Event on Feb. 15, 2024, at The Abbott in Kansas City, Missouri. More than 300 members of the association attended.

The full Board of Directors is listed below.


  • Angie McElhaney, Mark One Electric Company, Inc., Chair 
  • Andy Heitmann, Turner Construction Company, Vice Chair 
  • Steve Levy, McCownGordon Construction, Assistant Chair 
  • Brandy McCombs, IBC, Immediate Past Chair


  • Brian Dietz, JE Dunn Construction Company 
  • Keith Dorrian, A.L. Huber General Contractor 
  • Susan Hart, Reinhardt Construction 
  • Steve Kellerman, Burns & McDonnell Engineering Company, Inc. 
  • Juan Luengo, Engage Insurance Group, Inc. 
  • Ramsay Manning, SDS Builders, Inc. 
  • Jason Meyer, Rau Construction Company 
  • Mindy Rocha, CJ Industries, LLC 
  • John Rohrer, John Rohrer Contracting Company, Inc. 
  • Mike Swift, Risk Strategies Companies 
  • Ryan Warman, Pearce Construction

About The Builders, a chapter of the AGC

Founded in 1887, The Builders, a chapter of the AGC, advances the construction industry by delivering safety, craft and management training; employment, labor and government relations; and construction plans and technology tools. The Builders is among the Associated General Contractors of America’s largest chapters, serving member companies throughout the heartland.

The nonprofit commercial construction trade association operates four service and training centers in Kansas City, Jefferson City and Springfield to serve with integrity both union and nonunion member companies and to aid collaboration by connecting passionate people and businesses, with a vision of improving lives through construction.

Visit The Builders, a chapter of the AGC, online at and connect with them on LinkedIn, YouTube, Instagram and Facebook.