For immediate release - Jan. 26, 2023

Contact: Angela Crawford, Marketing Vice President | [email protected]

Brandy McCombs becomes first woman to chair The Builders board

For the first time in its 136-year history, the commercial construction trade association will have a woman in the top leadership role with the Board of Directors

Brandy McCombs, Principal, IBC

KANSAS CITY, Mo., Jan. 26, 2023 - The Builders, a chapter of the AGC, is pleased to announce the appointment of its 2023 Board of Directors. Brandy McCombs, principal at IBC, was seated as chair of the Board of Directors in a meeting Jan. 12, and a public “passing of the gavel” will take place Feb. 2 during the association’s anniversary event.

McCombs is the first woman to hold the chair position, and the first person to chair the board of The Builders, a chapter of the AGC, which is a unification of memberships of the former Kansas City Chapter of the Associated General Contractors and The Builders’ Association.

“Me serving in this role demonstrates that the industry is becoming more diverse and inclusive,” said McCombs. “That’s so important for the success of our future and in developing the best, most talented workforce possible.”

McCombs will serve as chair, alongside Vice Chair Angie McElhaney, Mark One Electric Company, Inc.; Assistant Chair Andy Heitmann, Turner Construction Company; and Immediate Past Chair Rob Cleavinger, JE Dunn Construction Company.

Newly elected to the board are Steve Levy, McCownGordon Construction; Ramsay Manning, SDS Builders; and Mindy Rocha, CJ Industries.

“Brandy is the right person to lead us in this new phase of our association’s long history,” said President of The Builders Don Greenwell. “Her incredible professionalism and entrepreneurial spirit are exactly what we need in a time of transition and growth for The Builders.”

The ceremonial passing of the gavel to McCombs will take place during the program portion of The Builders Anniversary Event on Feb. 2, 2023, at The Gatsby on Oak. Nearly 200 members of the association are expected to attend.

The full Board of Directors is listed below.

The Builders 2023 Board of Directors


  • Brandy McCombs, IBC, Chair
  • Angie McElhaney, Mark One Electric Company, Inc., Vice Chair
  • Andy Heitmann, Turner Construction Company, Assistant Chair
  • Rob Cleavinger, JE Dunn Construction Company, Immediate Past Chair


  • Keith Dorrian, A.L. Huber General Contractor
  • Clay Grannemann, TJ Wies Contracting, Inc.
  • Connie Leipard, Quality Drywall Construction, Inc.
  • Steve Levy, McCownGordon Construction
  • Ramsay Manning, SDS Builders, Inc.
  • Jason Meyer, Rau Construction Company
  • Mindy Rocha, CJ Industries, LLC
  • John Rohrer, John Rohrer Contracting Company, Inc.
  • Mike Swift, Risk Strategies Companies
  • Ryan Warman, Pearce Construction

About The Builders, a chapter of the AGC

Founded in 1887, The Builders, a chapter of the AGC, advances the construction industry by delivering safety, craft and management training; employment, labor and government relations; and construction plans and technology tools. The Builders is among the Associated General Contractors of America’s largest chapters, serving member companies throughout the heartland.

The nonprofit commercial construction trade association operates four service and training centers in Kansas City, Jefferson City and Springfield to serve with integrity both union and nonunion member companies and to aid collaboration by connecting passionate people and businesses, with a vision of improving lives through construction.

Visit The Builders, a chapter of the AGC, online at and connect with them on LinkedIn, YouTube, Instagram, Facebook and Twitter.